

Dr. Ekuru Aukot is the new Chair of the seven member panel that will pick commissioners to the Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission (IEBC). The other members include Marion Mutungi who has been chosen as the panel's Deputy Chairperson, Mwanyangela Ngali, Rosa Buyu, Isaac Lenaola, Irene Keino and Sophie Moturi.

According to the constitution the selection panel will decide on the number of commissioners to pick from the Interim Independent Electoral Commission (IIEC) for purposes of continuity.

The panel is expected to pick three candidates for the position of IEBC Chairman from which the President will appoint one as the Chair. It will also pick 13 commissioners, out of which eight will be selected to the IEBC.

Dr Aukot gave an assurance that his panel members will observe high levels of integrity to ensure that they pick the right commissioners for the IEBC.

This statement comes after the Personal Assistant to the IIEC Chief Executive; James Oswago has already been suspended for allegedly smearing the names of some of the commissioners in order to vilify their credibility to the IEBC.